Lana Del Rey considered quitting music when Amy Winehouse died

22 February 2021, 11:05 | Updated: 22 February 2021, 11:07

Lana Del Rey and Amy Winehouse
Lana Del Rey and Amy Winehouse. Picture: 1. Frazer Harrison/Getty Images for The Recording Academy 2. John Ricard/FilmMagic/Getty

By Jenny Mensah

The singer-songwriter has recalled finding out the tragic news about Amy Winehouse on the same day she had her first review.

Lana Del Rey thought about quitting music when she heard Amy Winehouse had died.

The Video Games singer revealed the excitement she felt when receiving her first review, but recalled how it was short-lived because it was the same day the British singer tragically died of alcohol poisoning in July 2011, aged just 27.

She told MOJO magazine: "I had 10 seconds of the most elated feeling, and then the news everywhere, on all of the televisions, was that Amy had died on her front steps and I was like no. NO."

"Everyone was watching, mesmerised, but I personally felt like I didn’t even want to sing anymore,"she admitted.

READ MORE: What is the Lana Cult? Why Lana Del Rey fans are using one image on TikTok

The singer--songwriter has also revealed that she's recorded a cover album of country songs.

"I went back and listened to Ride and Video Games and thought, you know they’re kind of country," she told the outlet. "I mean, they’re definitely not pop.

"Maybe the way Video Games got remastered, they’re pop – but there’s something Americana about it for sure.

"So let’s see how these things come out – I’m not going to have pedal steel guitar on every single thing, but it is easy for me to write."

READ MORE: Lana Del Rey covers You'll Never Walk Alone for Liverpool F.C documentary

Meanwhile, Meanwhile, Lana Del Rey fans are excitedly awaiting her seventh studio album, Chemtrails Over the Country Club, which is set for release on 19 March 2021.

So far the singer has released stunning visuals for the album's title track, which you can watch here:

Lana Del Rey - Chemtrails Over The Country Club

See the tracklist for Chemtrails Over the Country Club:

1. White Dress

2. Chemtrails Over the Country Club

3. Tulsa Jesus Freak

4. Let Me Love You Like A woman

5. Wild At Heart

6. Dark But Just a Game

7. Not All Who Wander Are Lost

8. Yosemite

9. Breaking Up Slowly

10. Dance Till We Die

11. For Free

Lana Del Rey covers You’ll Never Walk Alone for Liverpool doc

More Music News

Arcade Fire's Win Butler

Arcade Fire announce Funeral 20th anniversary date at Brixton O2 Academy

Liam Gallagher and his son Gene at the Burberry February 2018

Liam Gallagher proudly shares footage of son Gene's band VILLANELLE

Catfish & The Bottlemen will play Sefton Park in July

Catfish & The Bottlemen announce huge Liverpool show

Blur's Damon Albarn at Coachella 2024

Blur at Coachella: festival-goers slammed on Twitter as lacklustre crowd response goes viral

Hozier with Homer Simpson inset

Hozier thinks AI Homer Simpson singing Take Me To Church is "fun" but fears impact of artificial intelligence on music