What is the Lana Cult? Why Lana Del Rey fans are using one image on TikTok

4 July 2022, 12:58

Lana Del Rey fans are assembling by changing their profile pictures under the Lana Cult hashtag
Lana Del Rey fans assembled by changing their profile pictures under the Lana Cult hashtag. Picture: Amy Sussman/Getty Images

By Jenny Mensah

Lana Del Rey's fans are all changing their profile picture to the same image of the singer-songwriter. Find out why here.

If you're a keen user of TikTok, you may have noticed that Lana Del Rey fans are popping up all over the platform.

The US singer-songwriter is known for having legions of loyal followers, but lately they've been proving just how fervent they are by trying to take over social media and dubbing themselves the Lana Cult.

So, what is the Lana Cult all about and why are they using the same image of her? Find out here...

READ MORE: Lana Del Rey covers you'll never walk alone for Liverpool F.C. documentary

Lana Del Rey Cult image
Lana Del Rey Cult image. Picture: Twitter

What is the Lana Cult?

The Lana Cult is simply a self-assigned name for fans who love Lana Del Rey and want her to feature prominently on TikTok and social media. They're doing this by using the same selfie of the Video Games singer, which sees her smiling to camera as a car behind her is engulfed in flames.

Fans are either changing their own profile pictures to the same image or adapting their own selfies to feature the same background in support of the star.

The trend may seem pretty pointless, but the #LanaCult hashtag has amassed 48.6 million views TikTok and counting.

Plus, her fans are encouraging the same sort of love and dedication on Twitter.

READ MORE: Lana Del Rey cancels 2022 UK and European tour dates

Meanwhile, Lana Del Rey fans are excitedly awaiting her seventh studio album, Chemtrails Over the Country Club, which is set for release on 19 March 2021.

So far the singer has released stunning visuals for the album's title track, which you can watch here:

Lana Del Rey - Chemtrails Over The Country Club

See the tracklist for Chemtrails Over the Country Club:

1. White Dress

2. Chemtrails Over the Country Club

3. Tulsa Jesus Freak

4. Let Me Love You Like A woman

5. Wild At Heart

6. Dark But Just a Game

7. Not All Who Wander Are Lost

8. Yosemite

9. Breaking Up Slowly

10. Dance Till We Die

11. For Free.

Lana Del Rey covers You’ll Never Walk Alone for Liverpool doc


Radio X Best Of British - see the Top 100

The original line-up of Oasis in November 1993: aul Arthurs aka Bonehead, Tony McCarroll, Liam Gallagher, Noel Gallagher, Paul McGuigan.

Live Forever by Oasis named Radio X Best Of British 2024

Nothing But Thieves: Soundcheck To Stage