Ed Sheeran announces new = album

19 August 2021, 15:54 | Updated: 19 August 2021, 16:15

Ed Sheeran performs on The Late Late Show with James Corden
Ed Sheeran announces the details of his fourth studio album. Picture: Ella DeGea/CBS via Getty Images

The singer-songwriter has shared the title, release date and tracklisting for his fourth studio album. Find out what to expect here.

Ed Sheeran has confirmed the details of his fourth studio album.

The singer-songwriter has revealed that is a "really personal record" that is inspired by him becoming a father to his first child Lyra Antarctica.

The album follows the release of + in 2011, × in 2014 and ÷ in 2017.

Find out everything we know about the record so far.

READ MORE: Ed Sheeran's 10th anniversary show and how to get tickets

What's the name of Ed Sheeran's new album?

Ed Sheeran's fourth studio album is titled = which is subtitled as Equals.

When is Ed Sheeran's = album released?

Ed Sheeran's Equals is set for release on 29 October 2021. It's available to preorder on all platforms including cd, vinyl and cassette.

What can we expect from Ed Sheeran's = album?

Speaking about the record, Sheeran said: "I started writing and recording this album June 2017. It's been a long, long process. I’ve been through love, loss, new life, grief and everything in between during the whole period of writing it, and I feel like it’s really a coming of age record. I’ve never been more proud of a body of work, or more excited/nervous for you all to hear it."

He added: "The next song off of it is called Visiting Hours, which I finished for my friend Michael who sadly passed away this year. If you preorder the album you get this song with it, but it’s also on all platforms from now too. Lots more music to come, but for now I hope you are as excited as me for this album. ‘=‘ everywhere from October 29th x".

Ed Sheeran has already released Bad Habits from the album and its accompanying music video sees him play a mischievous vampire.

The track scored him his 10th UK number one single and spent seven consecutive weeks at the top of the UK’s Official Singles Chart and counting. It has since become the fastest track to reach half a million sales in the UK of the year so far.

Ed Sheeran - Bad Habits [Official Video]

What's the tracklist for Ed Sheeran's = album?

  1. Tides
  2. Shivers
  3. First Times
  4. Bad Habits
  5. Overpass Graffiti
  6. The Joker And The Queen
  7. Leave Your Life
  8. Collide
  9. 2step
  10. Stop The Rain
  11. Love In Slow Motion
  12. Visiting Hours
  13. Sandman
  14. Be Right Now

Written and recorded across Suffolk, London, Sweden and LA, the album has been produced by Ed, FRED and Snow Patrol's Johnny McDaid, and features songwriting contributions from the likes of Steve Mac, Joe Rubel, Amy Wadge, Foy Vance, Elvira Anderfjard, David Hodges, Andrew Watt, Lou Bell, Natalie Hemby and Ben Kweller.

Menawhile, Ed will play an intimate fan show at London’s O2 Shepherds Bush Empire to celebrate the 10th anniversary of his debut album ‘+’.

READ MORE: Ed Sheeran announces birth of baby daughter

Latest Music News

Dave Grohl performs with Foo Fighters in 2024

Foo Fighters at Emirates Old Trafford Manchester: stage times, support, setlist, tickets & more

Liam Gallagher plays the The Utilita Arena Cardiff

Liam Gallagher at Co-op Live Manchester: stage times, support, setlist, tickets, travel & more

Dave Grohl performing with Foo Fighters

Foo Fighters kick off tour dates and debut new track at first Manchester show: full setlist

The Killers press

The Killers at Dublin's 3Arena: stage times, support, setlist, tickets & more

Catfish and the Bottlemen announce 10th anniversary version of The Balcony

Catfish and the Bottlemen announce The Balcony 10th anniversary release