Sam Fender returns with Seventeen Going Under single

8 July 2021, 10:35

By Jenny Mensah

The singer-songwriter has returned with new music and details of his second album.

Sam Fender has made his fans very happy by releasing brand new material this week.

Seventeen Going Under sees the North Shields singer-songwriter pick up from where he left off, sharing an anthemic Bruce Springsteen-inspired coming-of-age track.

In a letter to his "17 year old self," Fender explains: "17 is when all the challenges begin: you're not a baby, but you're definitely not an adult (turns out that bit takes a lot longer than you think)."

Sam Fender
Sam Fender is back with a new single. Picture: Press/Jack Whitefield

Seventeen Going Under is the title track of Sam Fender's long-awaited second album, the follow-up to 2019's Hypersonic Missiles.

Says Sam: "This album is a coming of age story. It’s about growing up. It’s a celebration of life after hardship, and it’s a celebration of surviving."

Released on 8 October, the album was recorded in North Shields and produced with Bramwell Bronte.

Sam Fender - Seventeen Going Under track listing

  • Seventeen Going Under
  • Getting’ Started
  • Aye
  • Get You Down
  • Long Way Off
  • Spit Of You
  • Last To Make It Home
  • The Leveller
  • Mantra
  • Paradigms
  • The Dying Light
Sam Fender - Seventeen Going Under album cover
Sam Fender - Seventeen Going Under album cover. Picture: Press/Polydor Records

Sam has not just been burying his head in his own music, however, and has also contributed to the reworking of one of the most important rock album's of all time.

Metallica's re-imagining of their Black album sees the likes of Miley Cyrus, Elton John and Idles reworking their tracks, from the iconic album.

Listen to Sam Fender's recording of Sad But True (Live) for The Metallica Blacklist album.

Fender's debut, Hypersonic Missiles, was released on 13 September 2019 and flew in at number on on the UK album chart.

It included the likes of The Borders, Play God, Dead Boys, That Sound, Will We Talk? and its album opener and title track.

Meanwhile, Fender is currently set to play the likes of Neighbourhood Weekender, Boardmasters and The Isle of Wight Festival.

The Leave Fast singer will then support The Killers on four of their UK and Irish dates in 2022 as part of their Imploding The Mirage Tour.


Chris, Dom, Pippa and James get ready to head off on the first leg of the Prize Dump Tour

The Chris Moyles Show Prize Dump Tour - see the latest

Megan Fox and Machine Gun Kelly and Conor McGregor

Why did Machine Gun Kelly and Conor McGregor fight on the MTV VMAs red carpet?

Big hits from 1995: Radiohead, Blur and Elastica

QUIZ: Only a 90s expert can score 10/10 on this 1995 lyric quiz

An aerial view of the huge Oasis shows at Knebworth House, August 1996

10 of the biggest gigs in history