Marcus Mumford talks solo album and weight loss transformation

15 September 2022, 13:40 | Updated: 15 September 2022, 15:16

Marcus Mumford talks going solo and weight loss transformation

By Jenny Mensah

The Mumford & Sons frontman talks going it alone on his new album, (self-titled), and reveals what inspired him to get fitter.

Listen to this article

Loading audio...

Marcus Mumford has discussed going solo and getting fitter in a new interview with Chris Moyles.

The Mumford and Sons frontman is set to release his debut album, (self-titled), on Friday 16th September and embark on his first solo tour.

"I've got no idea how it's going to go," he admitted. "I think it's going to be alright."

Asked if he was nervous, he replied: "I am a bit nervous, yeah. I think nervous-excited."

He added: "It's out of my comfort zone, but I think that's a good thing."

On the subject of whether the album would be a commercial success, he said: "I'm stoked I did it. I get to go play it live and then I get back to the band. That's a result for me."

Marcus Mumford talks debut solo album and his weight loss transformation
Marcus Mumford talks debut solo album and his weight loss transformation. Picture: 1. Radio X 2. Press 3. Eric Ray Davidson

The artist has also gone under somewhat of a body transformation, having lost around 25 kilos (3.9 stone), which he says has given him another focus.

"I've quite enjoyed the process," he revealed. It's given me some purpose outside of family and music, which has been good and something to sort of think about. And [it's] just slightly changed my reward system and it feels good".

Asked what his reward system is now, the Better Off High singer replied: "The reward system is more centred around surfing than ice cream. The balance has got a bit better."

Watch the official video for this new single, Better Off High, below:

Marcus Mumford - Better Off High

Mumford will set off on UK and Irish solo dates this November which will see him perform at the likes of O2 Shepherd's Bush Empire in London. See the tracklisting for his new album and his full tour dates below.

READ MORE: Mumford and Sons' Winston Marshall quits band to 'speak freely' on politics

See the (self-titled) – Tracklisting:

  1. Cannibal
  2. Grace
  3. Prior Warning
  4. Better Off High
  5. Only Child
  6. Dangerous Game (ft. Clairo)
  7. Better Angels
  8. Go In Light (ft. Monica Martin)
  9. Stonecatcher (ft. Phoebe Bridgers)
  10. How (ft. Brandi Carlile)

READ MORE: The most anticipated new albums of 2022

See Marcus Mumford's UK and Irish solo tour dates:

  • 14th Nov: Leadmill, Sheffield
  • 15th Nov: 02 Shepherds Bush Empire, London
  • 16th Nov: 02 Shepherds Bush Empire, London
  • 18th Nov: The Nick Rayns LCR, UEA, Norwich
  • 19th Nov: 02 Institute 1, Birmingham
  • 20th Nov: Uni Great Hall, Exeter
  • 22nd Nov: Marble Factory, Bristol
  • 23rd Nov: Albert Hall, Manchester
  • 24th Nov: Invisible Wind Factory, Liverpool
  • 26th Nov: SWG3 Galvanisers, Glasgow
  • 28th Nov: Olympia, Dublin

Mumford And Sons Songs