The best Muse lyrics

9 June 2020, 10:00 | Updated: 9 June 2020, 10:01

Muse in 1999: Dom Howard, Matt Bellamy and Chris Wolstenholme
Muse in 1999: Dom Howard, Matt Bellamy and Chris Wolstenholme. Picture: Jim Dyson/Getty Images

Radio X flips through the Matt Bellamy songbook and picks his finest words of wisdom.

  1. “Rise up and take the power back/It's time the fat cats had a heart attack/You know that their time's coming to an end/We have to unify and watch our flag ascend.”

    Uprising (2009)

  2. “No one's gonna take me alive / The time has come to make things right / You and I must fight for our rights / You and I must fight to survive.”

    Knights Of Cydonia (2006)

  3. “I want to reconcile the violence in your heart / I want to recognise your beauty's not just a mask.”

    Undisclosed Desires (2009)

  4. “Look to the stars / Let hope burn in your eyes / And we'll love / And we'll hate / And we'll die / All to no avail.”

    Stockholm Syndrome (2003)

  5. “You're something beautiful / A contradiction / I wanna play the game / I want the friction.”

    Time Is Running Out (2003)

  6. “Your mind is just a program / And I'm the virus / I'm changing the station / I'll improve your thresholds.”

    Psycho (2015)

  7. “My plug in baby / Crucifies my enemies / When I'm tired of giving / My plug in baby / In unbroken virgin realities / I'm tired of living.”

    Plug In Baby (2001)

  8. “Everything about you is how I'd wanna be / Your freedom comes naturally / Everything about you resonates happiness / Now I won't settle for less.”

    Bliss (2001)

  9. “Life will flash before my eyes / So scattered and lost / I want to touch the other side”

    Map Of The Problematique (2007)

  10. “Oh baby don't you know I suffer / Oh baby can't you hear me moan? / You caught me under false pretences / How long before you let me go?”

    Supermassive Black Hole (2006)

  11. “You've got to be the best / You've got to change the world / And use this chance to be heard / Your time is now.”

    Butterflies And Hurricanes (2004)

  12. “Our hopes and expectations / Black holes and revelations.”

    Starlight (2006)


Arctic Monkeys have announced European tour dates for next year

Arctic Monkeys announce 2022 European tour dates

Adele reveals 30 album release date

An Audience With Adele: ITV's release date & how to watch

Damon Albarn in November 2020, shortly before the finger-severing incident

Damon Albarn severed his finger while making pesto

An aerial view of the huge Oasis shows at Knebworth House, August 1996

10 of the biggest gigs in history