Green Day to release Nimrod 25th anniversary box set

14 October 2022, 14:15

Green Day in 1997: Tre Cool, Billie Joe Armstrong and Mike Dirnt
Green Day in 1997: Tre Cool, Billie Joe Armstrong and Mike Dirnt. Picture: Snorri Brothers/Press

The band's 1997 spawned the hit Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life) and is getting the deluxe treatment.

Green Day have announced details of a 25th anniversary edition of their album Nimrod.

Their fifth full-length outing, the album was released in 1997 and featured the singles Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life), Hitchin' A Ride, Redundant and Nice Guys Finish Last.

The new box set, titled Nimrod 25 - 25th Anniversary Edition, will be released on 27th January 2023 and is set to include the original album, a disc of previously unreleased demos, and a live show from Philadelphia’s Electric Factory recorded on 14th November 1997, one month after Nimrod’s release.

The 14-track demos disc includes two unreleased Green Day songs - You Irritate Me and Tre Polka - plus a cover of the classic Elvis Costello song Alison.

Listen to You Irritate Me here:

Green Day - You Irritate Me [DEMO] (Official Audio)

Two editions of the set will be issued: a numbered 5-LP vinyl box which is being pressed as a regular black vinyl version, plus a limited edition pressed on silver vinyl, available in indie stores and via the website. The vinyl box comes with a 20 page, 12” x 12” book, poster, cloth patch, exclusive slip-mat and commemorative back-stage pass.

There's also a 3 CD box set, which includes booklet, cloth patch and commemorative back-stage pass.

The band is also bringing back a much sought after fan favourite vintage t-shirt along with other Nimrod-era merch available for a limited time in the band’s official store.

Pre-order the Green Day Nimrod 25 - 25th Anniversary Edition via the band's official webstore

The Green Day Nimrod 25 - 25th Anniversary Edition in silver vinyl
The Green Day Nimrod 25 - 25th Anniversary Edition in silver vinyl. Picture: Warner Bros Records/Press

Green Day Nimrod 25 - 25th Anniversary Edition box set track listing:


  1. Nice Guys Finish Last
  2. Hitchin’ A Ride
  3. The Grouch
  4. Redundant
  5. Scattered
  6. All The Time
  7. Worry Rock
  8. Platypus (I Hate You)
  9. Uptight
  10. Last Ride In
  11. Jinx
  12. Haushinka
  13. Walking Alone
  14. Reject
  15. Take Back
  16. King For A Day
  17. Good Riddance (Time of Your Life)
  18. Prosthetic Head

Nimrod Demos

  1. Nice Guys Finish Last
  2. Place Inside My Head
  3. The Grouch
  4. Walking Alone
  5. Jinx
  6. Alison
  7. Espionage
  8. You Irritate Me
  9. Tre Polka
  10. When It’s Time
  11. Desensitized
  12. Chain Saw
  13. Reject
  14. Black Eyeliner

Live at the Electric Factory, Philadelphia November 14 1997

  1. Going To Pasalacqua
  2. Welcome To Paradise
  3. Geek Stink Breath
  4. Nice Guys Finish Last
  5. Hitchin’ A Ride
  6. The Grouch
  7. Chump
  8. Longview
  9. 2000 Light Years Away
  10. Brainstew
  11. Jaded
  12. Knowledge
  13. Basket Case
  14. She
  15. Fuck Off And Die
  16. Paper Lanterns
  17. Scattered
  18. Prosthetic Head
  19. When I Come Around
  20. Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)