Pearl Jam, ELO & Yes To Be Inducted Into The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame

20 December 2016, 16:18 | Updated: 20 December 2016, 16:23

Eddie Vedder, of Pearl Jam

Journey, Joan Baez and the late Tupac Shakur will also receive the honour.

The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame has announced its 2017 inductees.

Pearl Jam, Electric Light Orchestra and Yes are among the artists to receive the honour at a ceremony which will be held next year.

Joan Baez, Journey and the late Tupac Shakur will also be inducted to the Hall Of Fame, with Chic's Nile Rodgers being given a special Award for Musical Excellence.

Rodgers - whose band Chic have been nominated 11 times, but never seen themselves inducted - told Rolling Stone magazine: "It's sort of bittersweet. I'm quite flattered that they believed that I was worthy, but my band Chic didn't win. 

"They plucked me out of the band and said, 'You're better than Chic.' That's wacky to me ... I am flattered and I think it's cool, but I feel like somebody put me in the lifeboat and told my family they can't get in."

All next year's inductees will be honoured with a ceremony held at the Barclays Centre in Brooklyn on 7 April 2017.

See 2017's the full list of inductees here:

Joan Baez
Electric Light Orchestra
Pearl Jam
Tupac Shakur

Award for Musical Excellence:
Nile Rodgers