New Sufjan Stevens Album In March Promises Return To Folk

13 January 2015, 08:29 | Updated: 13 January 2015, 08:38

The new LP, his first in five years, is being described as a return to his "folk roots" and we've got the beautiful trailer here.

It's been five years since Sufjan Stevens' last album The Age of Adz, and ten since he had an unlikely worldwide hit with Chicago. But now the Detroit singer-songwriter is back with a new album that promises a return to folk music.

Carrie & Lowell, named after his mother and stepfather, will feature 11 songs about "life and death, love and loss and the artist's struggle to make sense of the beauty and ugliness of love."

It comes out in the UK on 30 March, one days before its US release.

1. Death With Dignity
2. Should Have Known Better
3. All of Me Wants All of You
4. Drawn to the Blood
5. Fourth of July
6. The Only Thing
7. Carrie & Lowell
8. Eugene
9. John My Beloved
10. No Shade in the Shadow of the Cross
11. Blue Bucket of Gold