The Horrors announce "heavier and weirder" new album

The Horrors

The band's fourth album will be titled Luminous and will be released on 5 May. It's already being touted as "heavier, weirder and wilder" than their previous work.

Recorded with producer Craig Silvey at their studio-cum-bunker in East London, it's the follow-up to 2011's much-acclaimed Skying.

Pre-orders are available from iTunes now, with I See You given away as a free track.

The seven-and-half-minute synth anthem I See You was debuted earlier this month at The Fly Awards in London, where The Horrors were joined onstage by Sonic Youth legend Thurston Moore.

We’ve refined our sound,” says lead singer Faris Badwan, “and in terms of songwriting it is the record I'm happiest with.”

Keyboard player Tom Furse claims the album references " The Beatles, Sabbath, Kraftwerk…  Eno, J Dilla, Metroplex/Trax Records…but as always psychedelic music from all over the world, soul, funk, dub…”

The track listing for Luminous is:

Chasing Shadows

First Day Of Spring
So Now You Know
In and Out Of Sight
Jealous Sun
Falling Star
I See You
Change Your Mind
Mine and Yours