Barclaycard Mercury Prize 2012 Shortlist Announced

12 September 2012, 17:57 | Updated: 24 August 2017, 15:43

The XFM Top 1000 songs of all time

The shortlist for this year's Barclaycard Mercury Prize have been announced.

Twelve albums are up for the award as the best album of the past year, including Radio X favourites The Maccabees, Django Django, Alt-J, Ben Howard, Michael Kiwanuka and Lianne La Havas.

The full list is:

Alt-J - An Awesome Wave

Django Django - Django Django

Field Music - Plumb

Richard Hawley - Standing At The Sky's Edge

Ben Howard - Every Kingdom

Michael Kiwanuka - Home Again

Lianne La Havas - Is Your Love Big Enough?

Sam Lee - Ground Of Its Own

The Maccabees - Given To The Wild

Plan B - iLL Manors

Roller Trio - Roller Trio

Jessie Ware - Devotion

The winner will be announced in a ceremony in Central London on November 1.

Last year's winner was PJ Harvey for her album Let England Shake - the only time an artist has bagged the prize twice.