Adele and The Prodigy Win At Independent Music Awards

30 October 2012, 11:58 | Updated: 24 August 2017, 15:43


Enter Shikari, Alt-J and label 4AD also picked up accolades at the AIM Independent Music Awards.

Frankie and the Heartstrings were among the performers at the ceremony in North London.

The Prodigy picked up Best Live Act, while new-mum Adele won the  PPL Award for Most Played Independent Act.

Edwyn Collins received the Outstanding Contribution To Music award, which was presented on the night by Edwyn's long term friend Vic Godard of Subway Sect fame and Frankie & The Heartstrings, whose debut album was produced by Edwyn.

Mercury Prize nominees Alt-J took home Independent Breakthrough of the Year and Enter Shikari - who led the nominations - recieved Independent Album of the Year, beating Alabama Shakes and Liars.

First Aid Kit's The Lion's Roar was awarded Best 'Difficult' Second Album.

CEO of AIM Alison Wenham said of the awards "Our second awards has marked a stellar year for the independent sector - congratulations to all the nominees and winners!  This list of winners is like no other, and truly reflects the breadth of talent and diversity in the independent sector.  A fantastic night was had by all, and we look forward to celebrating further success for the independents in 2013."


Best Live Act: The Prodigy

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year: Alt - J

Hardest Working Band Or Artist: 65daysofstatic

Best Difficult Second Album: First Aid Kit - The Lion's Roar

Independent Album Of The Year: Enter Shikari - A Flash Flood Of Colour

Best Small Label: Black Butter Records

Genre Spotlight Award: Wiley - Evolve Or Be Extinct

Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year: Simon Raymonde - Bella Union

PPL Award For Most Played Independent Act: Adele

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year: The 13th Floor Elevators - Music Of The Spheres

Independent Label Of The Year: 4AD

Indie Champion Award: Ian Evans - IME Music

Best Independent Festiva: LeeFest

Outstanding Contribution to Music: Edwyn Collins

Pioneer Award: Daniel Miller, Mute