Mercury Prize 2013: Arctic Monkeys, Foals and Bowie Among Nominees

Arctic Monkeys

The nominees for the 2013 Barclaycard Mercury Prize have been announced.

The shortlist was unveiled at The Hospital Club in Covent Garden and includes Arctic Monkeys, Foals and David Bowie.

Jake Bugg, James Blake and Villagers are also up for the prestigious award.

Judges have spent months picking the 12 nominees.

They are:

Arctic Monkeys - AM

Foals - Holy Fire

Jake Bugg - Jake Bugg

Laura Mvula - Sing To The Moon

Villagers - Awayland

David Bowie - The Next Day

Savages - Silence Yourself

Laura Marling - Once I Was An Eagle

James Blake - Overgrown

Jon Hopkins - Immunity

Disclosure - Settle

Rudimental - Home

The winner will be announced on Wednesday October 30 at London's Roundhouse.


Chris, Dom, Pippa and James get ready to head off on the first leg of the Prize Dump Tour

The Chris Moyles Show Prize Dump Tour - see the latest

Megan Fox and Machine Gun Kelly and Conor McGregor

Why did Machine Gun Kelly and Conor McGregor fight on the MTV VMAs red carpet?

Big hits from 1995: Radiohead, Blur and Elastica

QUIZ: Only a 90s expert can score 10/10 on this 1995 lyric quiz

An aerial view of the huge Oasis shows at Knebworth House, August 1996

10 of the biggest gigs in history