James Bay And Catfish And The Bottlemen Win Big At The BRIT Awards 2016

24 February 2016, 22:31 | Updated: 25 February 2016, 13:28

James Bay BRIT Awards 2016

Adele also triumphs with four gongs on the night, including best album and the ceremony pays tribute to David Bowie.

It was a big night for Radio X favourites as the BRIT Awards came live from London’s O2 Arena earlier this evening (24 February).

The show, hosted by Ant and Dec for the final time, saw Adele notch up an impressive FOUR awards, following her phenomenal return with her album 25. Her Global Success Award was presented by astronaut Tim Peake, who sent a message from the International Space Station - a feat that brought the singer to tears.

James Bay appeared playing guitar alongside Best International Male Justin Bieber, before receiving the award for Best Male Solo Artist, following a year in which he released his debut album Chaos And The Calm.

Meanwhile, Llandudno’s finest, Catfish And The Bottlemen took home the British Breakthrough Act award, saying “We’re very grateful and very humbled.” The honour came as the band released the first fruits of their forthcoming second album, the track Soundcheck.

And, taking home the Best International Group Award, were Australian psych-rockers Tame Impala, who beat off competition from Eagles Of Death Metal, Alabama Shakes and U2.

Meanwhile, the ceremony paid tribute to the late David Bowie with a special Icon Award, presented by Annie Lennox and accepted by Bowie’s friend, actor Gary Oldman. The tribute continued with a performance of his hits by his final touring band from 2004, who then backed Bowie-approved singer Lorde in a rendition of Life On Mars?


BRIT Awards 2016 winners in full: 

British Artist Video: One Direction

British Breakthrough Act: Catfish And The Bottlemen

British Male Solo Artist: James Bay

British Female Solo Artist: Adele

British Group: Coldplay

Global Success Award: Adele

British Single: Adele - Hello

Mastercard British Album Of The Year: Adele - 25

International Male Solo Artist: Justin Bieber

International Female Solo Artist: Bjork

International Group: Tame Impala

Critics Choice Winner: Jack Garratt