BRIT Awards Critics' Choice Shortlist Revealed

5 December 2013, 11:05 | Updated: 19 February 2014, 19:11

Chloe Howl

The BRIT Awards 2014 Critics' Choice Award shortlist has been announced.

Chlöe Howl, Ella Eyre and Sam Smith are shortlisted this year, with the winner announced on Thursday December 12.

This award is chosen by a panel of experts including national newspaper music editors, music websites, music & lifestyle magazines, plus the heads of music at major radio and music TV stations.

Previous winners include Adele, Florence and the Machine and Tom Odell, who picked up the 2014 award.

But who are they?

Chlöe Howl

18-year-old Chlöe Howl was signed to Columbia Records within weeks of leaving school. Compared to the likes to Kate Nash and Lily Allen she has already supported John Newman on tour this year and released her first EP Rumour. Her debut album with Grammy-winning writer and producer Eg White (Florence and the Machine, Adele) is out in 2014.

"I've followed the paths of the BRITs Critics' Choice artists since Adele won the first one when I was twelve," she said. "To be on the shortlist is incredible, and to be alongside two amazing artists is an honour. It's so exciting!"


Ella Eyre

Former BRIT School student and singer/songwriter Ella has collaborated with Bastille. Her debut EP Deeper is out this month.

"It's overwhelming to be nominated for a BRIT Award, to think that two years ago I was at The BRIT Awards on a school trip, and to be considered now is crazy!"


Sam Smith

Sam Smith has already had a UK number one single - he collaborated with London producer Naughty Boy on track La, La, La. He also featured on Disclosure's hit single Latch. Sam Smith's first solo EP Nirvana was released this year.

"I have watched the BRITs religiously for many years growing up.  The people who have won before are to this day some of my favourite artists and biggest inspirations. So to even be up for this award is completely overwhelming for me. I can't begin to tell you how thankful I am!"


The BRIT Awards take place on Wednesday February 19 2014 at The O2 Arena, London.