Look Out! Iggy Pop And Josh Homme Are Heading Out On Tour Together

22 January 2016, 07:24 | Updated: 27 January 2016, 17:03

Iggy Pop Debuts 'Gardenia'


"A lot of geezers my age don't work out of their comfort zone anymore because once you become legendary you don't want people challenging you.”

So speaks “sweating lunatic” (copyright Alan Partridge) Iggy Pop, who has announced a brand new album… with some very special guests.

His new LP, Post-Pop Depression, has been put together in secret at Josh Homme’s desert recording studio, with Homme’s Queens Of The Stone Age bandmate and Dead Weather-man Dean Fertitia and Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders. Now, THAT’s a backing band.

The album will be supported by a tour that will see the band joined by QOTSA's Troy Van Leeuwen and guitarist Matt Sweeney. It’s going to be a hell of a racket.

Iggy, Josh and co will play the following European dates - tickets go on sale at 9am on Friday 29 January.

4 May  - Stockholm, Sweden - Cirkus
5 May - Copenhagen, Denmark - Falconer
7 May - Berlin, Germany - Tempodrom
8 May - Hamburg, Germany - Mehr! Theater
10 May  - Amsterdam, Netherlands - Heineken Music Hall
13 May - London, UK - Royal Albert Hall
15 May - Paris, France - Le Grand Rex

But knowing what we know about Iggy’s wild man of rock reputation, will Joshua H be able to handle the antics? You know, the Popster sometimes gets out of hand…

Iggy’s career started out with the proto-punk garage band The Stooges in the late 1960s and they quickly established themselves as something of a “confrontational” act.

Check out this amazing footage of a "square" old TV presenter trying to make sense of a blood-covered Iggy's chaotic performance in  1970. The Ig jumps into the crowd, so the show goes to an ad break, AS YOU DO. The station thinks the show is all over... but it's definitely not.

The Stooges didn’t achieve much commercial success, and they imploded in 1974 after a series of nasty shows that culminated in the band squaring up to some very mean and angry Hell’s Angels. The whole thing was captured on the unofficial album Metallic KO, which soon became a favourite of the new wave of punks.

Of course Iggy had his career resurrected by David Bowie, with whom he recorded two classic albums in Berlin in 1977: The Idiot and Lust For Life. But the wild man was still there, despite the clean-living he espoused on the latter LP’s memorable title song.

Just look at this unpleasantness from 1981, where Iggy takes an audience member to task over whether he owed his career to Bowie. “You have a lot of overweight people in this region, don’t ya?”

The following decades saw Iggy appear in such films as John Waters’ Cry Baby (1988) and Tank Girl (1995), while releasing more acclaimed albums, including American Caesar (1993) and Naughty Little Doggie (1996). The reformed Stooges made a splash last decade, with a memorable performance at Glastonbury in 2007, which saw dozens of fans invade the stage. Take a look at the mess:

Now, Iggy is back with a new band, getting back to his garage rock roots. The journey started when Iggy texted Homme.

"I wanted to be free," says Iggy of the record. "To be free, I needed to forget. To forget, I needed music. Josh had that in him, so I set out to provoke an encounter-first with a carefully worded text, followed by a deluge of writings all about me. No composer wants to write about nothing. He got revved up and we had a great big rumble in the desert USA.”

Mind you, Josh Homme is no stranger to the occasional confrontational rant. But will he be able to handle Iggy? It’s going to be an eye-opener. Let's hope nobody chucks something on stage, eh? Look at this:

Released on 18 March, Post Pop Depression is now available for pre-order, with all pre-orders immediately receiving Gardenia, which is available on all major streaming platforms.

You’ll be able to hear the first single, Break Into Your Heart, on Radio X on Monday 25 January, when Johnny Vaughan will play it after 4pm.

Iggy Pop - Post Pop Depression track listing:

Break Into Your Heart
American Valhalla
In The Lobby
German Days
Chocolate Drops