Noel Gallagher: “I’ve Given Up Trying To Defend U2”

Having toured with Bono and co, Noel reacts to criticisms about the Irish band, saying: “If you don’t get it, more fool you.”

Noel Gallagher has been speaking to Radio X about the experience of touring with U2 on their recent Joshua Tour and the criticisms he’s received… mainly from his own brother.

Liam has been taking potshots at his elder sibling for supporting the stadium-straddling Irish band as they took their biggest album around the world on its 30th anniversary, including dates at London's Twickenham Stadium and Dublin's Croke Park. He even called Noel “Beige Boy” for playing the shows.

But Noel has told Chris Moyles that he’s “given up trying to defend U2” and that the experience touring with them was “amazing””.  He said on the breakfast show this morning (9 October): 

“It was great, we had a brilliant time, it reaffirmed that the Irish are the best people to hang out with and that the Irish are possibly the worst people to drink with, because none of us really know when to stop."

“They get a lot of stick thrown at them, U2... In America, they're one of the great bands of all time. But in England they cop for a lot of flack, which is ridiculous when you think about the amount of records that they sell.”

He went on: “Bono seemed, at Twickenham, less larger than life than he usually does… but they shouldn't be worried.  

“I’ve given up trying to defend U2 now. I’m like, if you get it - great. If you don’t, more fool you.”

Noel also revealed that the U2 contingent were big fans of Sonny, Noel’s seven year old son, who joined his dad on the tour.

“The U2 lot are fascinated by Sonny, he's got the comedy timing of a genius.

“I’ll never forget, when we were having breakfast one morning, in some hotel in Rome and Bono walks in and says, ‘Heeeeeey, Sonny!’

Sonny's eating breakfast, so he just went, ‘Yeah, yeah, we'll talk later!’”

Noel Gallagher’s third solo album with his High Flying Birds is released on 24 November, with the first single, Holy Mountain, released today.

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds: Who Built The Moon? track Listing:

1. Fort Knox
2. Holy Mountain
3. Keep On Reaching
4. It's A Beautiful World
5. She Taught Me How To Fly
6. Be Careful What You Wish For
7. Black & White Sunshine
8. Interlude (Wednesday Part 1)
9. If Love Is The Law
10. The Man Who Built The Moon
11. End Credits (Wednesday Part 2)
Bonus track: Dead In The Water (Live at RTÉ 2FM Studios, Dublin)

Pre-orders and UK ticket info is available at