Maximo Park Unveil Fourth Album: The National Health

28 March 2012, 13:29 | Updated: 13 August 2013, 10:39

Maximo Park

It's been three years since the release of last record Quicken the Heart.

The National Health was recorded with the legendary Gil Norton (The Pixies, Foo Fighters, Patti Smith).

"We're in a global recession and everyone is being bombarded with bouncy, happy music," explains frontman Paul Smith. "The nation is out of control and the record is about taking back control, and being a force for change in your own life. It can't speak for everybody but it has its eyes and ears all around us... that's always been a Maximo Park thing: look at yourself. See how you relate to yourself and hopefully someone else will have something in common with it. Our songs are built on empathy. I would hope it's as vital a music as people would want to hear."

Hear the title track:

The National Health tracklisting:

1.     When I Was Wild
2.     The National Health
3.     Hips and Lips
4.     The Undercurrents
5.     Write This Down
6.     Reluctant Love
7.     Until the Earth Would Open
8.     Banlieue
9.     This Is What Becomes of the Broken Hearted
10.  Wolf Among Men
11.  Take Me Home
12.  Unfamiliar Places
13.  Waves of Fear