James Bay Announces Electric Light Album & New Single

1 March 2018, 13:37 | Updated: 25 May 2018, 13:51

James Bay press 2018

Listen to the singer-songwriter's Pink Lemonade single, plus find out the release date of his second studio album and his new UK dates.

James Bay has announced his new album, Electric Light, will be released on 18 May. 

The singer-songwriter has also shared the tracklist for the follow-up to 2015’s chart-topping debut Chaos and the Calm, and dropped its second single. 

James Bay Electric Light album artwork
Speaking about the new record, James said: “If I had to describe my first album visually it would probably be a flame - while this new album is about a real sonic and artistic evolution for me. The feeling of a 100 watt bulb expanding and brightening is what I envisioned. Electric Light came to my mind and I knew it was perfect.”

Today sees Bay also premiere his new song Pink Lemonade, and released an exclusive video.

Watch a clip of it here:

 The single follows the release of lead single Wild Love - which features Stranger Things' star Natalia Dyer: 

Revealing the meaning of the track to Radio X's Gordon Smart, he said: "It's a bit of a love at first sight thing. I reckon that happens to people.

"They catch and lock eyes with someone across the room for the first time and it's magic and everything that follows is fantastic."

Watch him explain all in our video below:

Bay’s second studio venture was composed in East London’s Baltic Studios, and was co-written and co-produced with longtime friend and collaborator Jon Green, before the pair brought onboard Paul Epworth - who previously worked with Adele and Florence and the Machine - to add final production elements to the record. 
On top of announcing his album release date, the Hold Back The River hitmaker has revealed plans to tour the UK in June, after selling out his upcoming gig at London’s Brixton Electric on 15 March just minutes.
James will head to London’s Roundhouse, Manchester, Sheffield, Bristol, Cambridge, Newcastle, and Leicester on his UK tour later this year.

Electric Light Tracklist:

1. Intro
2. Wasted On Each Other
3. Pink Lemonade
4. Wild Love
5. Us
6. In My Head
7. Interlude
8. Just For Tonight
9. Wanderlust
10. I Found You
11. Sugar Drunk High
12. Stand Up
13. Fade Out
14. Slide

See James Bay's UK Tour dates below:

27 May - SWANSEA, Radio 1 Biggest Weekend + 

29 May - LONDON   The Roundhouse + 

30 May - MANCHESTER  Albert Hall +  

1 June -  SHEFFIELD  O2Academy + 

2 June -  BRISTOL   Colston Hall +  

3 June - CAMBRIDGE   Corn Exchange + 

5 June - NEWCASTLE O2Academy +  

6 June - LEICESTER DeMontfort Hall + 



29 June - GLASGOW, TRNSMT Festival

17 August - RIZE FESTIVAL* 

Latest On Radio X

Crowds at the last Truck Festival, in July 2019

Truck Festival is cancelled for 2021

Glastonbury line-ups

Can you guess the year from the Glastonbury line-up?

Billie Eilish in 2021

Why do people want to "cancel" Billie Eilish?

Tony Hawk and Avril Lavigne

Avril Lavigne and Tony Hawk reimagine Sk8er Boi on TikTok debut for Go Skateboarding Day

Pete Doherty shows off his fuller figure

Pete Doherty owes new look to French cheese on toast and "guilty pleasure"

Freddie Mercury at Live Aid and Rami Malek's recreation for the film Bohemian Rhapsody

The biggest factual inaccuracies in the Bohemian Rhapsody film